“Somebody is Looking Out For Me”

Today I watched this video of Adam Savage speaking at the Reason Rally. It  inspired me. It made me happy. I listened to it a few times, because he says so many great and meaningful  things in such a short time.  I thought about every Christian speaker I’ve ever heard (which is a lot) and  wondered what their speech would sound like. My analysis is as follows, “We have a god who loves us” (cheering from the crowd), “We need to win back our schools for god” (cheering from the crowd), “God has a plan for you” (Cheering from the crowd), “Gods mercy rains down on us” (Cheering from the crowd).  Probably some music playing, some time to think quietly about all your transgressions, emotion filled testimonies, more singing, and a whole lotta crying.

I was that a part of that crowd several times. Now I long to be a part of a crowd like the one at the Reason Rally. I want to cheer for and celebrate human reason. Adam Savage states a lot of facts.  I want to celebrate facts. Facts don’t make me agonize over the lack of clarity they offer.  Reasonable thought doesn’t leave me with a million what if’s and no way to get to the answer. It means so much more to me to cheer for reason, truth, facts, ideas, and a fellow human’s story than cheering for abstract, questionable, emotion based empty phrases. I am excited to think of my morality as truly mine, not bestowed upon me or demanded of me to receive “life”.  Failing as a faithful person led to a road of wonder, frustration, sadness, questioning, self-loathing and a variety of other emotions. Failing as an atheist means determination, problem solving, wonder, and education.  Truth has changed my life for the better.

The ending quote was my favorite and sums up so much of how I feel.

I have concluded through careful empirical analysis and much thought that somebody is looking out for me, keeping track of what I think about things, forgiving me when I do less than I ought. Giving me strength to shoot for more than I think I’m capable of. I believe they know everything that I do and think, and they still love me, and I’ve concluded, after careful consideration, that this person keeping score is me.

Stay Adorable,

M.C.

3 thoughts on ““Somebody is Looking Out For Me”

  1. I think it would be a wonderful experience to have been at the Reason Rally. I watched many of the videos of it and am really encouraged. There are a lot of get-to-gethers, other rallies and conferences that hopefully you can attend.

  2. I will not attack your doctrines nor your creeds if they accord liberty to me. If they hold thoughts to be dangerous. If they aver that doubt is a crime, Then I attack them one and all. Because they enslave the minds of men.

    -Fuck Religion

Leave a Reply

